Arizona requires all drivers within its borders to purchase auto insurance before driving on state roads. It also sets a minimum insurance level. At INW Insurance Solutions serving Mesa AZ, we want you to know about the inaccuracy of some of the information you see on the Internet regarding Arizona auto insurance.
Although state law changed on July 1, 2020, increasing the state minimums, most of the insurance blogs still provide the old information. That means that what you see in a Google snippet or Bing feature box isn’t correct. Those sites say you need 10/30/10 coverage, but you now need 25/50/15. You’ll also need a minimum of uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage equivalent to the state minimums for bodily injury (25/50).
Let’s look at what you need to remain legal in detail. The 25/50/15 requirements break down like this:
- Coverage in the amount of $25,000 for bodily injury or death to an individual in an accident you cause.
- Coverage of $50,000 for bodily injury or death for all persons in an accident you cause.
- Coverage in the amount of $15,000 for property damage to all vehicles in an accident you cause.
- An option for uninsured motorist coverage for $25,000/$50,000 for bodily injury.
The last insurance type, uninsured motorist protection, kicks in if another driver hits you, but that driver didn’t own an insurance policy, or they didn’t carry enough insurance to address the damage wrought to your vehicle or your person.
Contact INW Insurance Solutions, serving Mesa, AZ, today to update or purchase your new auto policy. Let us help you drive legally.